gasper crasto, Tiatr, Goa Tiatr, Goa

By Gasper Crasto

Kuwait: Credit for the popularity of Goan Konkani songs perhaps goes to legendary singers such as Young Menezes, Kid Boxer, M. Boyer, Alfred Rose, etc. Their legacy has been kept alive by many star singers.

Lawry Travasso and Rosario de Benaulim are among two such star singers most respected for their melodious voices.

Both the icons are expected to entertain Kuwait in Maestro Shahu’s musical show 'TIATRISTPONN DEVACHEM DENNEM' scheduled on Friday 2nd Dec 2016 at Salmiya Indian Model School (SIMS), Salmiya starting 4.00pm sharp. 

Magical Maestro Shahu has toured UK, Bahrain, Qatar with his troupe, the recent being last September.


Lawry Travasso needs no introduction to Konkani audience. He has created a niche for himself as one of Goa’s melodious singer and a much sought after artiste. 

Audiences across the globe, and specially Kuwait Goans always have high expectations of the gifted singer. The mega star is sure to entertain his fans in Kuwait. 

Before joining tiatr stage, Lawry was a keyboardist and main vocalist for beat groups like ‘Little Coordinators’ and ‘Off Rhythm’. He was given a break in tiatr by his ‘ganv-bhav’ and celebrated playwright Shri John Claro. 

Having released over 60 audio albums till date, Lawry occupies a pride of place in Konkani music.  The singer has performed in various dramas, shows and symposiums everywhere in the Konkan world including a visit to United States of America to perform. Lawry also features in numerous VCDs and youtube videos. 

Lawry has also written and directed his own shows. His maiden tiatr ‘Kagtachim Fulam’ in 2012 performed over 25 shows while another drama titled ‘Bavlelim Fulam’ was meaningful too.


The musical show with comedy skits is being organized by St. Francis Xavier Boys to raise funds for charity.

A cast of select artistes that will perform include: 

Lawry Travasso, 
Rosario de Benaulim, 
Shunaina Baptista of Goencho Avaz Fame

Nelson Colaco & Lucy Aranha

Kuwait Trio of Cajetan de Sanvordem, Mario de Majorda and Michael D’Silva, 
Gracy Rodrigues, 
Clemmie Almeida, 
Esparansa Barretto, 
Laurente Pereira, 
Balthazar Pontes, 
Alberto Azavedo
Katty de Navelim, 
Bab Agnel, 
Seby & Seby Mascarenhas, 
Custodio de Cuncolim 
Pitu Ferns & 
Gasper Crasto

Maestro Shahu, 
Faustino Fernandes, 
Flaviano Furtado, 
Tony Fernandes, 
Rafio Gonsalves

Newer Post Older Post Home